Jean Alphin

"Short Stories"

“Kindness”


I had to take the bus this morning,my Chevy SUV broke down yesterday. So, I put it in the shop to get fixed. I’m no fan of the buses, but you have to, what you have to do.

I’m on my way to the toy store in town. I’m going to buy a birthday present for little Timmy, who lives next door to me. His birthday is tomorrow, he’ll be seven years old.

His mother Joan, told me he likes to play boardgames….especially Monopoly. More than likely, I’ll find something for him.

As the bus pulled and stopped in front of the toy store,it started to rain. I waited for the door to open, to get off the bus,then my foot slipped getting off.
I fell right in the arms of this handsome guy. I felt so embarrassed.
The bus driver yelled,”Lady are you all right?”

“Yes,I’m fine!”

I know my face was red,because it felt warm….. But I was okay.

The fellow was still holding me.He then left me go,and said,”That’s a close one.”

“Thank you so much!” “I better watch where I’m walking next time.”

It starting to pour and I said, “I better get going.”

“My name is Jeff,you didn’t tell me your name.”

“Nice to meet you Jeff,lets go under the awning next to the post office.
Both of us ran laughing under the awning.

“I chose a nasty day to shop,I chuckled.”

“Jeff my name is Darcy. I’m on my way to the toy store,to buy a gift for my next door neighbor.”

“That’s nice!” he looked at his watch, “I have to get to work,here is my cellphone number.” “Call me”

After he left,I ran into the toy store. I ask the store clerk,where the board games were. She said,”In aisle four.”

I found the monopoly game,purchase it,the cashier was nice enough to wrap it for me.
When I went back outside,the sun was shining. “This is April weather.” I mumbled.

I decided to stop at the library,to see if I could find a good book. This was Saturday,I didn’t have anything plan. My girlfriend Stacy,ask me if I wanted to go down to the shore,this weekend. But I told her my vehicle was in shop…I had to hold on to my money.

I found two romance novels,after staying in the library for a couple of hours. I was ready to take the bus back home.

When I got back home,I knock on Joan door. Timmy answered the door,and I handed him his gift. He gave me a big hug,and thanked me. It made me feel so good.
The weekend went too fast, Monday morning came. Before I left to go to work,there was a knock at my door. It was the man from the auto shop.
I opened the door,and he handed me my key.

“You had a loose wire,I just connected it,and it’s fine to drive.”

“There is no charge,for this.”

“Thank you so much,I won’t forget you.”

“Have a great day Darcy.”

“I was elated,he saved me a lot of money. My day was great for the rest of the day!”

After I arrived home from work,my cellphone rang.

It was Joan,”Hi Darcy,I want to thank you for making Timmy so happy.He couldn’t believe, you knew what he wanted for his birthday.

After he ate his dinner,and did his homework. Timmy took the game across the street to show his friend Ms. Hooks..She is a widow,and Timmy stops by to see her. They both like to play board games.”

“I’m so happy to here that. Timmy is such a thoughtful young man.”

“Yes he is Darcy,thanks again,I’ll talk to you later.”

“After I get settled,I think,I’ll give Jeff a call and see where that takes me.”

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on ““Kindness”

  1. She’s having a pretty good day. She must be a looker because most people would let someone else drop, and then steal their purse. I hope there’s more to this story!

Leave a Reply

