Jean Alphin

"Short Stories"

“Sensitive and Curious”


Babs Forma threw her handbag on the kitchen floor. As she slammed the door behind her,and bursted out with tears.
I can’t believe this,today, when I got off the bus from work. I seen my boyfriend walking down the street,with this bitch. She has long red hair,and a ass that you couldn’t miss. They both were laughing,and seem to be having a great time.

Brent is suppose to be working over-time today.

Babs is 24 years old, 5’4″ tall,with brown eyes and dark blonde hair.She is sensitive, and curious, but can be jealous.

Brent is Babs boyfriend of 2 years.

He is 25 years old, 5’8″ tall, with hazel eyes and auburn hair. Brent is resourceful, witty and honest.

Several hours later,someone turned the knob on my front door. I jumped off my blue living-room chair. Afterward, I heard Brent yell from behind the door.

“Babs,” “Let me in, since when did you lock your door?”

“I was still steaming, about what I seen today. But I’ll let on,like I didn’t see anything.”

“Just a minute Brent!”
As I opened the door, I said, “Ugh!” “I was watching the news! “Things going on out there, are really scary, after viewing the events.”

“If you feel safer locking your door,fine!” “But I have to run to the bathroom. Something I ate, didn’t agreed with me.”

Brent then threw his cell-phone and a little bag on the coffee table,and practically ran to the bathroom.

“I hate to be sneaky,but I’m going to check his phone calls out, before he gets back.”

“You know what I mean,I’m sure!”

“I then snatched the cellphone,and went through all his calls. Their were calls that he made to me, his friend Josh and somebody named Sherry.”
“Who the hell is Sherry?” “Maybe it’s that bitch, with the big ass?”

“Just as I put the phone back on the table. I heard heavy foot- steps, coming from the bathroom.”

“Josh and I had a late lunch,about a hour and half ago. Being I have to work until 9 to-night. I thought I’d stop by and give you your favorite blueberry pie.”

“Thanks,that was nice of you.”

“I almost for to tell you,next Thursday I have another double shift.”

“That’s bull scrap!” You’re suppose to take me out to dinner for my birthday.”

“I’m sorry Babs,I forgot! We have this deadline,that can’t wait. I might be working all night.This assignment must be finished by Friday morning.”

“Well!” “What am I suppose to do, sit around on my birthday?”

“Why don’t you go over to Matty’s bar with Jenny and have a drink?” “I’ll try and run over and have a drink with you,for your birthday.”

“That sounds like a plan,if Jenny is free. She mention, maybe if Ken isn’t working next Thursday, we all can go out and have a drink, at Matty’s. But I told her, you already made reservations for dinner.”

“Brent gave me a long soft kiss,with his warm lips.”

“If I had more time,I’d take you into the bedroom,and finish this. Nevertheless, I better get back to work.”

“After he left, I called Jenny,but her line was busy. I’ll have to call her back.

“I wonder who this Sherry is?” I should of mention to Brent,that I seen him,with that bitch! But he might think that I was spying on him. I don’t think, he has a person named Sherry,working with him.

I’m just going to come out and ask him, when he calls.”

I called Jenny back later,and she answered on the third ring.

“Hi Babs!” I just got off the phone with Ken. “What luck!” “He is going out of town for a couple of weeks,for his job. We were suppose to go and visit his parents,next week.”

“Well, since Brent is working over-time again,and Ken is out of town. Do you want to go with me to Marty’s Thursday night,and have a birthday drink with me?”

“Sure Babs!” “What are friends for!”

“What time do you want to go Babs?”

“9:00,if its okay with you?” “I’ll pick you up.”

“That’s fine,but I’ll pick you up,it’ll be your birthday present.” laughed Jenny

“See you Thursday night,I’ll call before I come.”

“Thanks Jenny,see you than.”

“I started humming my favorite song “Blue Bells”,that I just heard on the radio.”

The following week went by fast. Here it was Wednesday already. Everything was going good.
But I had to get this Sherry out of my mind. What if Brent didn’t love me anymore? I decided to wait until after my birthday,to confront Sherry to Brent.”

“I made dinner,and afterwards, Brent and I went into the living-room,to watch a little T.V. We carried with us, our slice of cake,that I made the day before.”

As we sat down, Brent’s cell-phone rang.He looked at the face of his phone,and hung it up. He didn’t bother to answer it.

“My friend from work just called,and he needs me at work. So I have to leave.”

“With tears in my eyes…I screamed,”Don’t you mean Sherry needs you!!!”

“I don’t know what your talking about!

Then he slammed the door behind him.

“He didn’t call me at all that night. Matter of fact the next day,I didn’t hear from him at all.
That night,Jenny called me,and I told her what happened last night.”

“Don’t worry about him, this is your day. I’ll be over to pick you up.”

“While we were riding to Marty’s,we both didn’t say to much.”

“When we pulled up to Marty’s. We both got out of her ford,and started to walk inside. It was a beautiful night.”

“Jenny said,”Hell with Brent!” “Lets go in and have a good time.”

“As we opened the door,it was dark in there. Jenny looked at me,and I looked at her.”

“All of a sudden, the lights came on. Their was a huge crowd their. They all started sing “Happy Birthday”

“At the end of the counter stood Brent,and this red-head bitch. He had his arm around her shoulders.”

“I walked over to him,tried to slap his face,but he grabbed hold of my arm, and laughed. My eyes got big as day,and my mouth was wide open.”

“Calm down birthday girl!” “I would like you to meet my sister Sherry.”
With a laugh,he said, Sherry this is my wild girlfriend Babs. She isn’t usually wild like this,but under the circumstances. She thought,you were my girlfriend.”

“I guess,I would act the same way,not knowing what was going on.”smiled Sherry
“I’ll tell you the story Babs….About 2 weeks ago,I called my brother,and told him I was coming home from Texas to see him.We’re the only family we have. Mom and Dad,was killed in a car accident,when we were both teenagers.Brent is all that I have.”

“Let me finish it,because everyone is standing around waiting for the party to begin. I asked her to wait, until, at least a week. Because I was going to have a surprise birthday party for you. When she arrived that day,I know you seen us. We were walking from the train station. I told Sherry,we both blew it.But when I stopped over at the house to bring you the pie. To see if, you really did see us. You didn’t say anything about it,so I was releaved.
“I couldn’t tell you last night who Sherry was,so I left. Can you every forgive me,love?”

“Being it was your sister,I’ll forgive you. But don’t do it again.

“Everybody started clapping,and yelling…..”Lets get the show on the road.”

“I’m not finished yet,said Brent with a big smile.”

“He then got down on his knee,and said. “Babs will you marry me?”

“I was in state of shock. My mouth wouldn’t move. Everybody was waiting for my answer. I suddenly belted out….”Yes Brent,I will marry you.”

“You could hear the whistling and clapping behind us. You could see them all, throwing confetti in the air.

“Brent and I, held each other as we kissed.”

“This is the best birthday present,I ever had.”I yelled

-+

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on ““Sensitive and Curious”

  1. This is really good. The end was a pleasant surprise. I’d like to meet Sherry!

Leave a Reply

