Jean Alphin

"Short Stories"

“It is what it is!”


Wink,was sitting on his front porch,that he and his late wife,Rose owned. This was his last day here, which he called home.

Wink’s real name was Stetson John, his nickname came from his friends, when he was a young lad. Wick had this twitch in his left eye, ever since he was born. Everyone thought he was winking at them.

At age 85……Wink thought he was doing great.

Since his Rose, of 50 years passed suddenly 7 years ago,at age 73. They borne 2 children, one son Brent,age 60,and a daughter Valeria, age 58. They both have good jobs and spouses. Brent and his wife Karen, has 1 son, Brent Jr. Valeria and her husband Kent, has no children.

Wink was in great shape for his age. Until 2 years ago,when he started forgetting things. It started with little things,than it progressed. He would drive somewhere and forget how to get back home.
Luckily one time,a police officer noticed him pulled over the side of the road. Wink was standing outside his car and waving to everybody, that passed by.
When the officer pulled behind his car, he got out of his vehicle,he walked over to Wink.

Wink smiled at the officer.

The officer didn’t know what to think,he was smiling and winking at him.

“What’s the matter sir?”

“I have to get home, my wife Rose,has dinner waiting for me. My problem is,I don’t know which way to go.”

“So your lost sir?”

“Yes you could say that!”

“Can I see your drivers license?”

The officer took the license,that Wink gave him.

“Stand on the other side of your car,and I’ll be right back.”

The officer enter his vehicle,and did background checking. He came back out of the car after 5 minutes.

“Mr. John,you live 8 miles from here.Let me take you to the police station for your safety. Then we’ll call your wife,so she doesn’t worry.”

Once they got there,Wink gave the officer his number. The officer called his house several times,but no one answered.

“Do you have any other family that I can call?

“Let me look in my wallet.”

There he found another number.

“Here you go,this is my daughter Valeria’s number.”

The officer took the card from Wink,and called his daughter.

The phone rang, after the third ring, a woman answered.

“Hello Valeria speaking.”

“Hello,are you Mr. John’s daughter?

“Yes I am.”

“This is officer Minsky,I have your father here at the police station.”

“Oh my god!” Is he okay?”

“Yes he is, I found him parked along side the road, he was lost. I called your mother,but there was know answer. Your father said he was late for dinner.”

“Oh my!” Mom’s been dead for quite a while.”

“Sorry to here that!”

“Which station is he at? I’ll come and pick him up.”

“Hanover’s township.”

“I know where that’s at…..he really did get lost, didn’t he?” “Can I talk to my dad?”

“Sure thing.”

He handed Wick the phone.

“Hello!” Wick said

“Hi dad,I’m on my way!”

“You don’t have to pick your mother up.”

“I know dad,I know.”

After that incident,Wink stay with his daughter,and her husband Kent for a while. they knew he couldn’t go home by himself any more.

Valeria and her brother Brent sat down with their father,and talked about what he wanted.

Wink kept changing his mind about what he wanted.

Therefore,brother and sister, hoped they made the right decision for him.

Their decision was, he was going to live with Brent,and his wife Karen. Both had to work,so they hired a nurse to take care of him, while they worked.

That meant,his house that he loved,had to be sold.

“That is the reason,Wink sat on his porch for the last time. While his daughter and son, were in the house gathering all his personal belongings. The moving truck would be there soon.

“Don’t worry Rose, we’re going to be okay.”

Single Post Navigation

One thought on ““It is what it is!”

  1. Pingback: Winking Animals Are The Most Important Thing On The Internet « TALESBYCINDY

Leave a Reply

