Jean Alphin

"Short Stories"

“Bad Choices We Make”


Lita didn’t have a choice, but to do what she had to do. Little Mark, age six months,and his brother Marty,who is two, isn’t being taken care of properly.

Lita was only nineteen, without a family nearby. When she was sixteen, she ran-away from home which, was in North Carolina. She found herself in Delaware, after taking free rides from truck-drivers.

“Well, I shouldn’t say free rides….that is when my problem started. Sex and food in exchange for rides in different trucks. I didn’t know where I was headed, and at the time,I didn’t care.”

“Until about a month later,I got tired of living that way.”

While I was walking along interstate 95. A tracker trailer pulled over.The driver ask me if I wanted a lift.

I excepted his offer… little did I know what would happen next.

We talked for a while,and he asked me where I was from. I told him my story.

“I’m sorry to hear your sad story.” he said.

Next he pulled in at a truck-stop. When he was parked,he got out….came over to my side and opened the door. I got out, as I turned around,to shut the door. I noticed next to that door,their was a second door.along side of it.

The trucker said,”Let’s get in the back and eat,you must be hungry.”

“Which I was.”

He then opened the second door,and ask me to get in, which I did.

“Before the door was completely shut….he was all over me.”

“I yelled at him to stop.”

“The truck-driver just smiled at me.”

“He said,”what did you expect, a party?”

“After he raped me, he threw me out of his truck.

“The last words I heard from him was,”Go home to your mama!”

I stayed hid for a whole day, until I seen this young guy…. somewhere around my age. He got out of his truck,and got a drink from the water foundation. He seen me,and ask me what I was doing their.

“I told him I was lost.”

That was the beginning of our relationship. He lived in Stater,Pennsylvania,that is where he took me.

His name is Marty,and he loved to party..the nickname his friends gave him.
One thing led to another…I partied with him. “why not!”

Before I knew it,I was pregnant.

When Marty found out……he said,”Don’t tell my mom,she doesn’t like you anyway.”

“What did I get myself into? What does your mother have to do with the baby?” sighed Lita

“You know I haven’t worked in a while,and she has been giving me money.”

“Well!” “Looks like your going to have to find a job,and stop getting high everyday.”

“Who do you think your talking to?” “I took you off the streets,why don’t you get a job?” Further more,you get high with me,you seem to like it.”

This argument about Marty getting a job,went on for quite a while. I finally found a job,I wanted to saved enough money. So that we could find a little apartment, before the baby was born. I hated living here in his mothers house.

When “Little Marty” was born, we were still living with his mother. It seemed the money I was trying to save,went mostly on getting high,with Marty. Marty was right about me enjoying to get high with him.

I have to get myself straighten out for the babies sake at least. Marty, I can’t depend on. I hate to leave “Little Marty” with his dad, when I work…..who knows what’s going on then. Sometimes,I leave the baby with Shirley, a older lady down the street, when I go to work.

Months went by,and I got the shock of my life. Yes, your right,I was pregnant again.

“When I found out, I cried for weeks. This isn’t fair,for the children we’re having. I thought about,having an abortion, but I couldn’t do it…..it’s a human being…my baby!”

“I started putting money away,and didn’t tell Marty. By the time the baby comes,I should have enough,to get an apartment for all of us. Maybe things will change,if Marty’s away from his mother.

No matter what he does,it’s fine with her.”

A month after Mark was born,I told Marty,I found us a little apartment.

“You crazy woman!” I’m not going anywhere. This is my home,if you want to move out,take the kids with you.”

“These two children belong to both of us. Their your responsibly too. Just as much as mine.”

“Take the kids and get the hell out of here.” “Don’t come back!” “I’m sure you can be replaced.”

After I gathered some of the children’s belonging. I went over to Shirley’s house. “I ask her if she would watch them until I got myself together.”

“Take as long as you need,they will be safe with me.”said Shirley

Lita left her two children their with Shirley. She was on her way to pay the rent for the apartment. But instead,she found herself back at Marty house.Lita needed a fix…..Marty was glad to see her.

“I knew you would come back….they always come back.

“This went on for a couple of weeks. Lita didn’t know sometimes, where she was at.

When Lita came back to reality,she couldn’t believe what she had done. All the money she saved was going. She didn’t even know how her children were.

“That’s it Marty!” .”How low,I’ve become. You brought me down to your level.” “Good by!” “You won’t see me or the babies anymore.”

As she walk out the door and slammed it. Lita heard Marty yelling out the window,”you’ll be back.”

“That was when,I made my mind up,to get help for myself,and then be a mother to my children.”

“I stopped over to Shirley’s house to see my children. I told Shirley what I was going to do. She was tickled pink,”take as long as you need.”

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

