Jean Alphin

"Short Stories"

“What a Surprise!”


Several hours have pass, and no word from Nick. Something must be going on, or else he is really mad.

It was unusual to Tammy, whenever she was going for very long, he would call at least three times.   She couldn’t figure out why, last night, he didn’t call her, while she was sitting in the park….planning this escape.

Tammy looked at her gas gauge,as she was driving to her hometown.

“Oh Shit!” “I’m about to run out of gas.”” “Shit!” “Just my luck!”

“Oh Great!”  “I really plan this right, almost ready to run out of gas, with little money.  she sigh out loud.

I’m near mom’s house, which I didn’t plan on stopping by.   I don’t feel like listening to her. “I told you so!”

Instead,she pulled into the nearest gas station, took the last seven dollars out of her purse.  Got out of her car,and paid the man, put the gas in her empty tank.

Afterward, she knew what she had to do.

Tammy drove in town not far from where she was born. The town was called Minx, in PA. She didn’t think she would be back so soon.

On the corner was Minx Deli,where she worked at, right after she graduated from high school.  She was their until she started dating Nick.  He talked her into leaving their, and moving in with him.

When Tammy walked into the deli, Judy, her friend from back in school,was behind the counter.

“What’s up Tammy!”

“I came in to see Ms. Minx.. I need a job today!”

“She’s in the back, just knock at her door.”

“Thanks Judy!”

Tammy went into the back,and knocked on her door.

“Come on in Tammy.” “Shut the door behind you.”

“You don’t have to say a word Tammy,I heard you tell Judy you need a job. I wouldn’t hire you again,if I didn’t need help. I’m going to give you a second chance.”

“Thank you,thank you, Ms. Minx.”

“This is your lucky day. Don’t even think of walking out again. If you do,you better not step your foot in my Deli again. Now go out their with Judy, and help her.”

As Tammy walked back out in the Deli,she said to Judy, I’m your new co-worker.”

“Great!” “Because I need the help. I’m tired of yelling for Ms. Minx to come out and help me.”

“I have to find a place to stay. I don’t want to go back to my mom’s house. She hasn’t talked to me,since I moved in with my boyfriend.”

“You can sleep on my couch, until you get your own place.”

After Judy and Tammy closed up the Deli. Tammy got in her vehicle and followed Judy to her condo. When they both arrived at their destination. Judy showed Tammy around her condo.
While Tammy was unpacking some of her things. Judy told Tammy she would be back in a couple of hours.

“Make yourself at home, I’m going over to my boyfriend’s house for a while. He called me this afternoon, asked me to come over. He said his room-mate moved out.”

I’ll be fine Judy, go and enjoy yourself.”

As Tammy was going through her things,she couldn’t fine her good watch,that her late grandmother gave her. She didn’t have the nerve to call Nick. At the same time, she knew if she wanted it back,she would have to.

“I’ll just wait until I get enough nerve up.” sigh Tammy

Two months later, she started looking for an apartment. There were days, that Judy didn’t come to work, and nights, she didn’t come home.

One day,Judy came home and asked Tammy,if she wanted to take the condo over.

“I’m moving out of here, and moving in with my boyfriend.”

“Tammy answered, “I can stop looking for a place. Their wasn’t any that I really liked.”

A week later Judy moved out. Before she said good-by to Tammy. She stopped in her tracks.

“I almost forgot,I have something for you. Let me go out in my car and get it for you.”

When Judy came back in,she handed her a little box.

Tammy opened it,and her eyes lit up.

“How did you get my watch!”

“My boyfriend gave it to me last night for you. He said to tell you hi!”

.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on ““What a Surprise!”

  1. Oh boy, that’s trouble! Tammy may be better off this way, and soon Judy will be coming to her for help.

Leave a Reply

