Jean Alphin

"Short Stories"

“Life is Too Short”


Tammy sat on a bench, at a park , that was  nearby to her little apartment . Which she shared with her boyfriend Nick.

This seems  to have become a habit, for the last three weeks. Tammy would just sit there for hours, with tears in her eyes, and just think.

“Nick and I get into a argument about stupid little things.  We must watch,what he wants on television.  He doesn’t like the way I do things,he can always do something better than myself. When he attempts doing anything,and it doesn’t turn out right…..,it’s my fault, always, never his.”

“I’m just sick of getting stressed-out,  about little things….life is too short!”  she thought to herself

“Nevertheless, here I am again”.

“Sitting in the park,crying my eyes out. Nobody deserves a life like this.”

“I should of seen it coming!” cried Tammy

“When Nick and I first met,about a year ago. Things were very nice. We both fell in love, and he treated me like a queen.”

“I was blind to his……… all about him scenes.”

We moved in together, after six months of dating. (Big Mistake!)

She thought he would change, she said,”That never happened.”

As Tammy was watching the children,having fun  playing in the park.  She thought,”I deserve to be happy too.”

“I can’t go on like this everyday.”   mumbled Tammy

“Tomorrow morning when Nick goes to work,I’ll pack my things,and leave before he comes home.”

Tammy stood-up,her thoughts were lifted,after thinking of this plan.  She walked home in better spirits.

When she arrived back at the apartment,Nick was waiting for her at the door.

“Where the hell have you been?” “I’ve been waiting for you, I  was  starving!”  “It’s all your fault that I almost burned my hamburger up.”

“You are good for nothing ,get out of my way. I’m going to bed..I need my sleep,for work tomorrow. You don’t know what work is.”

After Nick went upstairs,Tammy started to cry…but she thought about her plan tomorrow morning,and calmed herself down.

The next morning when she woke-up….. Nick was already up.

He was in the bathroom yelling,    “Tammy get the hell up.”

“Why didn’t you throw out that hamburg in the refrigerator?”  “I’ve been on this toilet all night,and can’t get off.” Call my work and tell them , I won’t be in today.”      “Now!”

He didn’t have to tell her twice. Tammy said, ” she hurried to get dressed,  grabbed most of her important belongings.  Slammed the door behind her,and never looked back,as she drove away.

 

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on ““Life is Too Short”

  1. I wonder where Tammy will go? Nick says that she doesn’t know anything about work, so she can’t have a job. I’d like to be carefree as a child, too. Tammy needs to be able to take care of herself before she can be in a relationship.

    • Just because Tammy doesn’t have a job. Doesn’t mean,she has to put up with all his crap. She’ll have to get a job,and be more wiser…about her relationships. Thanks for your comment.

  2. You’re right – she doesn’t deserve to be treated that way. But the more independent she becomes, the more options she’ll have.

Leave a Reply

