Jean Alphin

"Short Stories"

“It’s my Life We’re Talking About”


Everybody needs a vacation,thought Brianna Justly.  I have a lot of thinking to do, it depends on the rest of my life.

Dustin Antin is twenty-three years old,with light brown hair that he wears short. He is 5’9″, and a little heavy. He graduated from Warlord high school, in Pucks Pa., a while ago like  his girlfriend Brianna.

Dustin has  had   several different jobs, that he didn’t like, since graduating,so he just quits. He is still living home with is parents,and his younger brother and sister.

“What the heck!”   he muttered. “I have all the time in the world to find a job.”

Brianna and Dustin started going out together about a year ago. Just about the time her mother and father were getting a divorce.

They both have been friends since school and they both have the same likes.   “Well almost”

Brianna wants to make something out of her life,she has been working and trying to save money,to go to night school,to become a nurse.

Five days a week she works at a nursing home,  sometimes six,   trying to save her money to get ahead. Nevertheless, something always comes up with Dustin,and he needs a little help.

He tells her he’ll help her out when he gets a job.

Dustin has always liked Brianna. He likes her long straight blonde hair, blue eyes,and her slender body. Maybe she weighs 90 lbs,thought Dustin, maybe some day I’ll marry her.

That’s what happened,Dustin ask Brianna to marry him. That started the fireworks.

Brianna question him right away.” You don’t even have a job, your living home with your parents and loving it. I love you Dustin, but I can’t live that way.”

“I’ll change Brianna, I love you.”

“Let me think about this,because I’m talking about my life.”

Dustin grew angry, “I’ll give you a week to think about it,and the answer better be yes.”

“We’ll see Dustin,we’ll see.

After Brianna went home,it didn’t take her long to think about it.

If Dustin is threatening me now.  What will happen if  I decide to marry him,and, I do something he doesn’t like.

She muttered to herself,  “I’m glad he brought out his bad side now.”

The next morning  when she awoke, Brianna  told her mother,what happen between her and Dustin. That her decision was to take a long vacation, maybe she wouldn’t be coming back. Her bags were all ready pack,then she loaded her car,and kissed her mother good-by. Her first stop was at her bank,she withdrew all her money,and was on her merry way,to start her new life.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

