Jean Alphin

"Short Stories"

“The Little Journey”


As they were both walking down the street,they both heard a dog barking in a front yard. Simon and Fuzzy  stopped,to see what he wanted.

“Where are you both headed to?” asked the dog

Fuzzy answered,  “I’m taking my friend to the park,so that he can find his friend the possum.”

“Well ,do be careful,there is a lot of traffic here.”said the dog

“We will”, said Fuzzy and then they both hurried a long.

“Who was that Fuzzy?” asked Simon

“That was Tara, she is new in the neighborhood, I like her.”

“Look over there Simon!” “Can you see the park?”

“Yes I can!” said Simon happily

“You go on, and I’ll get back home before my mother misses me.”

“Thanks a lot Fuzzy!  Maybe I’ll see you later goodby.”

Simon continued on his journey to the park. When he got there ,a boy on a bike was coming from the park. He was going fast,and yelled  to Simon as he passed. “Get out of the way cat,I have to get home.”

The boy scared Simon,he almost missed him.

“I better be more careful.” he thought

Simon then started walking in the park,he looked all around. But he didn’t see his friend the possum, he was sad.

“Maybe if I sit under this tree for a while, I can watch for him, but boy am I getting hungry.

Simon stayed there for quite some time, he was watching all the birds that the humans were feeding. Still he didn’t see his friend the possum.

It was starting to get dark. He thought,”maybe if I go over there,they’ll feed me,and I can find a place to sleep.”

As he was walking over to the humans,one of them had a huge dog laying next to her. The dog seen Simon and started chasing him. He heard the human hollering at the dog to come back. But the stupid dog kept chasing Simon until he reach a lot of big bushes. Simon was shaking,he hid behind one of the bushes.

The human ran over and brought the dog back, “You bad dog!” Simon heard the human say,as they were walking away.

Simon was relieved, then out of no-where,he heard this voice coming from behind of one of the bushes.

“What are you doing here?” “You better get over here before that mean dog comes back.”

He recognized that voice, so he slowing crept over to where the sound was coming from.

Sure enough he couldn’t believe his eyes,their was his friend the possum. He was hiding like he was just doing.

“It’s getting dark,why aren’t you home with your parents?”

Simon told him all about his parents,and them letting him out on his own. Also about meeting Fuzzy after getting lost , trying to find him.

“Is your name Fredi?” “That is what Fuzzy told me.”

“Yes it is!” ‘ You never asked me my name,you were just worried about that darn hotdog.

“Nevertheless, after watching you Simon,I think your going to need my help. Not everyone is nice like I am. I bet you haven’t eaten anything all day.”

“Nope!”  “I haven’t!”  “I just wanted to find my friend first.”

“Alright, you found me, now lets go find something to eat. Be careful,it’s dark out, stay close to me.”

“Let’s go Fredi,I’m very hungry.”

“I know Simon,I know.”

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

