Jean Alphin

"Short Stories"

The Sister,That I Thought, I Knew (65)


I better stop daydreaming, and open Autumn’s letter.

Dear Faith,

I received your letter,and you are right,I haven’t been around for Autumn.
Really not for anyone,just myself. But since Ryan came into my life,I now have a new life. We’re getting married,next month.
I’m so happy for Tamara,I wish I was their. On another thought,I probably would of messed up her beautiful day. I’m glad sis,that you,Ben and the whole family was their. Like I said before,I thank you and Ben,for taking her in as your own. Who knows what kind of life, I could have gave her. Matter of fact,I do,I don’t even want to think about it.
Please tell Mom,I’m sorry for everything,and I love her.Tell the rest of the family,I love them also,and I’m sorry.
I’ve been thinking for quite a while,about Ryan and I coming to Pennsylvania. But,it would only open new wounds for everyone,especially for Tamara. Please tell Tamara,I love her,and miss her.I know she won’t understand,but I feel I’m doing the best thing.
This will be my last letter,I don’t want you,or anyone else,worrying about me anymore. Ryan has a better job in the next town,so we will be moving to be near his new job. When we are settled,we are going to get married,and we are going to start a new life for ourselves.

Good By Faith,
Love,
Your sister,Autumn

I put the letter down and cried,I hope everything turns out good, for her and Ryan. I don’t know what to tell Tamara and Mom. I guess,I’ll have to tell them the truth. It’ll hurt feelings, but at least this will help them get on with their own life. By not having to worry about where Autumn is,and if she is alive or dead.
Ben came home from work,and I insisted on reading it to him. He knew I was upset, by the way I looked,with red eyes,and the unhappy look. Ben just sat down and listened.
After I was finished reading the letter.

Ben said, “I think Autumn is making the right decision. She is probably a shame of herself,for what she has been doing,for many years. To come back,and face everyone,especially Tamara. I’m sure Tamara won’t understand, maybe later down the road, but your mother will. She might not like it,but it’ll give her a peace of mind. Knowing that she is going to be alright.”

“Ben do you mind making yourself something to eat? Because I have a lot of phone calls to make. If I wait until later,it’ll be harder for me to do.”
“Don’t worry about me honey,I’ll cook up the best meal,for both of us. You just go and do what you have to do. Leave the cooking to me.”

“Thanks Ben!” I said smiling. “I knew their was a reason I love you.”

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

