Jean Alphin

"Short Stories"

The Sister,That I Thought,I Knew (64)


The next morning went fast,I did a couple of errands. I stopped by Mom’s,she needed me to help her with some papers. That she received in the mail two days ago. After I left Mom’s,it was late in the afternoon. I went home and made myself lunch,and took it outside on the patio. Their was a cool breeze blowing, but I loved it. I looked up at the sky,and the sky was a bright blue,and clear,and the sun was just glowing. This is such a relaxing and peaceful sight.

As I was sitting outside,I heard my phone ringing. I went in the house and answered it

“Hi, Aunt Faith,” the voice said.

“Hello Sweetie!”

“I called to say hello,I had a day off from work. So I wanted to make something different for diner,for Ned and I thought,I would try to make your famous Lasagna.”

“That sounds like a great idea,I haven’t make that for a while Tamara.”

“I need your recipe, Aunt Faith,if you don’t mine.”

“No problem,let me go and find it in my recipe box.”

“I’ll hold on.”

“I found it Tamara!”

I gave her all the ingredients,after she wrote it down she said.

“Thanks,Aunt Faith!” “I guess I better go to the market,and get my ingredients.”

“Okay Sweetie!” “Have a great day,and I know,Ned will be surprised,By,By!”

After I hung-up the phone,I checked my cupboard, and refrigerator. To see if I had everything to make Lasagna for Ben and I.
“Great!” I said to myself. “I have to defrost the meat first in the microwave, then,I’ll start diner.

As I was putting the Lasagna in the oven,I heard the mailman,put the mail in the mailbox. I went to the front door,and took the mail out of the box. Their was a lot of junk mail, which I threw in the trash in the kitchen. In between one flier ,that I almost missed,and would have threw. There was an envelope,I looked at the front of it. It was another letter from Autumn. I don’t know how the letter,got mixed up inside the junk mail,but I’m going to be more careful. Before I throw out any mail from now on.

It really seems strange,that Tamara called me not long ago. Then,I just received a letter from her mother.

It is really a shame,that Autumn wasn’t around for Tamara. She has really missed a lot of good memories. Someday,I’ll show Autumn, all of Tamara’s pictures when she was growing up.

Not that I mind, but, Tamara should be calling her Mom,about all the new things. That she wants to try out, beings, Tamara is a new bride. Really, my sister has missed out on a lot. I bet,Autumn regrets how her life was turned-around,after she found out about her second husband Jock.

In life, we all have to live and learn.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “The Sister,That I Thought,I Knew (64)

  1. We do have to live and learn!

Leave a Reply

