Jean Alphin

"Short Stories"

The Sister,That I Thought,I Knew (63)


It’s getting near the end of March,it definitely feels like spring in the air. I’m so glad that the winter is over, with the daylight savings time in effect, Easter has just passed us. I know,I feel a lot better,and more time to do things that I want to do.

Like I’m going to take a walk in the park,and then sit on the bench,and watch the children play.

There is a small playground here, where I used to take Tamara a lot. I would sit on the bench,and talk to other parents,that were there with there children. We all had such a good time,and enjoyed each others company.

But now the children are all grown-up, sometime, I see a few of the same parents here. We chat about what is going on with our lives.

On the way home from the park,their was a little boy around four, standing on the side-walk,with tears in his eyes.

“What’s a matter honey,why are you crying?”

The little boy said,”My ball rolled down the street again,and my mother said,if it happened again. She would make me come in the house,and I don’t want to.”

“What is your name,and where do you live?”

“My name is Charlie”, and he pointed to the house behind him.

“Okay Charlie, where is your ball,I don’t see it?”

“It’s across the street,in front of that truck.”

So I walked over their,and picked up the ball,and handed it back to him. He was smiling ear-to-ear.

“Thanks lady!”

As I was leaving,a lady standing at the front door of Charlies house. Opened it and hollered,Thank You.”

I felt good,because I did a good deed today.

When I got home,I went in the back yard. I noticed, my hyacinths and roses were blooming,they both have a great smell.
After roaming in the yard,I looked at my watch,and said to myself. I better go inside and take a shower,and get dressed. Because when Ben comes home from work today. He’s taking me out to dinner,and then to see a movie. We are celebrating our thirty-fifth anniversary. I can’t believe that it has been that long. We have been fortunate,to have been married that long. Of course we have,had our ups and downs,and our blessings.

Ben walked in the door, with something he was holding behind him. He gave me a big hug and kiss.

He said,”Happy Anniversary Honey,” you still look as beautiful,as the day I married you.”

“Thanks Ben!

He then took a bouquet of roses,from behind him,and handed them to me.

“This is for the love of my life!

We both kissed for a long time, while the heat from both of our bodies yearn for more.

Ben pulled away and said,”I’m not going to ruin this night. I’m going to go upstairs and take a shower,and get dress. Then I going to take my gal out on the town.”

Before he walks up the stairs,he smack’s me on my butt.

Ben smiles,with that naughty look, and says,”I’m going upstairs,you better not go anywhere.”

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

