Jean Alphin

"Short Stories"

The Sister,That I Thought,I Knew (62)


In the afternoon,I finished up all the things,that I felt like,I needed to do. I decided,I was going to make a Beef Stew for dinner. I gathered up all the things,that I need for the stew, from the refrigerator, put it in my slow cooker. It’ll be ready for Ben and I around dinner time.
I made myself a cup of hot chocolate,and sat down at the desk,in the living room. I started to write when the phone rang. When I started to pick it up,it stopped ringing. I said to myself,must have been the wrong number.

I was thinking, I don’t know, if I should let Autumn know,
that Tamara got married. I won’t be mean,it is her daughter.

Dear Autumn,

What a surprise! You chose to be silence,for such a long time. I was glad to hear from you,though. You finally got yourself together,and met a nice man,and cleaned your act up.
I called Mom this morning,and told her,that I received a letter from you. She was surprised as much as I was. I told her what was happening in your new life. Mom was happy,and very emotional. Because none of us,knew if you were living or dead. Lot of years,and holiday’s went by,without news from you.

What I can’t understand,why you didn’t at least call Mom,or write to your daughter. You left a huge void,in your daughter’s life.

I wasn’t going to tell you, but Tamara is your daughter. Your daughter,got married to a wonderful man,his name is Ned. They are both happily married,it’s a shame you weren’t their,for the wedding.

Maxwell is also happily married,to a nice woman,her name is Mary Ann.

Neither Tamara,nor Maxwell have any children.

It’s a shame,how things have unraveled in your life. But by your letter you wrote me,things are starting to look good for you,and your soon to-be husband, Ryan.
You have my number and Mom’s number,they both are the same. Call if you can,or write.

Love,
Faith

I addressed the envelope,and put the letter inside. I didn’t have any stamps,so I walked over to the post office. Got the stamps out of the machine,and mailed the letter.
While I was out,I stopped at the store to get a half of gallon of milk. On the way out,I ran into Lucy,she told me that her house sold two days ago.

Lucy said, “I was shocked that it finally was sold. My daughter wants me to come and live with her,I’ll probably think about it. But at the same time,it’ll probably be the best thing to do.”

“I’m happy for you Lucy! I told you that it would sell soon”

“You did Faith,you were right.”

“Well you take care of yourself,and when you get time,give my mother a call.”

“Will do! By!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

