Jean Alphin

"Short Stories"

The Sister,That I Thought,I Knew (60)


I sat down and proceeded to read the rest of the letter after dinner,it continued like this :

After we moved into our apartment,we both had our ups and downs. I had to be the strong one for both of us.
I’m proud to say,we both have been clean,for almost three years. Ryan and I are going to get married soon. If it wasn’t for him,who knows where,I might be.

How is Tamara doing? I bet she has grown into a beautiful woman. I know she must hate me,for not being there while she was growing up. I can’t thank you and Ben enough,for taking care of her. Who knows how she might of grown up,if she stayed with me. I don’t even want to think of the outcome.

How is Mom,and our two brothers? They all probably hate me to,for what I have done,all these years. There is nothing,I can do about it. Just try to keep myself and Ryan straight.

If you want to, write me, when you get a chance.

Love,

Autumn

Before I put the letter on my desk,I asked,Ben if he wanted me to read the letter to him.

“No Faith” “I just want to know if she knows she still has a daughter?”

“Yes Ben,she does!
Autumn thinks that everyone hates her.”

“I wouldn’t blame them if they all did,especially Tamara.”

“I’m surprised at you Ben,you don’t have it in you to hate anyone.”

“Your right Faith! Autumn just pisses me off. I feel for Tamara,her mother wasn’t around when she was growing up. When she needed her the most,we did the best we could,but we’re not her mother.”

“I know Ben,I feel the same way. Tamara,grew-up to be a beautiful and intelligent woman. I can’t believe she is married either.”
“We both have to admit it,we did a great job raising her,like our own. We tried having our own children,but it never happened. I guess it was meant to be.”

“Ben,how about if I make us some hot chocolate,and watch,a little television?”

“Okay Faith!” I don’t know how long I’ll be up,because,I’m tired.”

“I’m tired also,I thought we could unwind a little,before we did.”

“Sounds good to me,Faith.”

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

