Jean Alphin

"Short Stories"

The Sister,That I Thought,I Knew (59)


Everything was going well,for everybody. One day,when I came home from work. I gathered my mail out of the mail box. Just a few bills,and a lot of advertisement,I thought. Stuck to an envelope,from the electric company. Their was an envelope,with a return address”9764 Linen Avenue,Liken, North Caroline. It was address to me,and I couldn’t imagine who it was from. But deep in my heart,I was hoping it was from Autumn.
I hurried to unlock my front door. Once I got in the door,I threw the rest of the mail,on the kitchen table. I sat down,and carefully opened the envelope. There was a letter in their. It read:

Dear Faith,

I guess you can’t believe,that I finally wrote to you. I guess you already heard,that I left the detox center,in the middle of the night. I’m sorry if I unset you and the rest of the family. But I had to do things my way,to end,my habit.
While I was in the center,I met a man,who’s name is Ryan Hibbson. He is a couple of years older than me. Ryan came from a dysfunctional family. He said,he had the same habit I did,drugs.
We both had the same classes,I grew to know him well. Like magic,we both fell in love,with each other.

One day we got this idea,to leave the center. We agreed, that if we both stuck together,then we could kick the habit together,if we really tried. Ryan and I had this crazy idea,to leave the center in the middle of the night. Just leave our personal things behind,and start a new life together. Which we both thought was so romantic. So we made our escape,a week later.
Ryan said,we could go over to his brother Bruce’s house. Because he wanted him to straighten himself out long time ago. So that is where we ended up. His brother and wife was glad to see him.They asked him all kinds of questions,and he told them,where he’s been.
To try to straighten himself out. Also that he brought his love of his life with him.
We both stayed with them,for about three months. We both got jobs in a Nursing Home. Ryan was hired for a cook.I was hired for an aide. We both saved our money for an apartment, while we were at his brothers.
After Ryan and I had enough money for an apartment,we moved out. Bruce and his wife,treated us real nice,we hated to leave. But we had to move on and test ourselves,alone.

I looked at the clock,and it was almost 5:00. I put the letter down,so I could make dinner for Ben and I. I’ll go back to reading Autumn’s letter,after dinner.

When Ben came home,I didn’t wait until he shut the front door.

I said,”Ben,you’ll never guess,who sent me a letter?”

“Your going to tell me,Autumn?”

“Yes” I said,with tears in my eyes.

“Did she say anything about Tamara?”

“No,not yet,it’s a long letter,I haven’t read it all yet.”

“Don’t you think a mother would asked first?”

“Your right Ben,you would think so. But she hasn’t so far,just about her and her boyfriend Ryan. Lets sit down and eat. Then I can read the rest.”

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

