Jean Alphin

"Short Stories"

The Sister,That I Thought,I Knew (58)


The holiday is over,Tamara and Maxwell went back to their colleges. Everyone had such a good time,talking about all the good times,and some bad times. We also talked about Autumn,when things were normal with her.
Mom couldn’t comprehend,where she went wrong. She didn’t say much more,because Tamara was there. Mom said,”no more talk.” Because she didn’t want to ruin,Tamara’s great spirits.

It’s been three whole years,since that great Christmas. Maxwell and Mary Ann,got married, a year after that holiday. Tamara and Ned,got married last year. So far no babies,they have plenty of time ahead of themselves.

Nobody has heard from Autumn,it seems like she has disappeared, from the face of earth. I call the police every year,to see if they have heard anything from her. Every year,I get the same answer,

”I have your telephone number. If we get any new news,you will be the first to know”.

I just pray she is still with us. I’ll have to be patient,some day I hope to hear from her. I’ll just get on with my life,until then.

I started a new job,this week. My old place of employment, never reopened. I got a new job at Sears in the office. I’m working only two days a week,which is fine for me.
On my way home from work,it was raining hard. I’m glad that the temperature was above freezing,because the ride home would really be bad. This morning when I left for work,the ground was snow-covered. It must of snow some last night. Can’t complain,because it is the month of January,I’m sure we will have a lot more of this nasty stuff.

When I got home around 3:30, I made a meatloaf for diner. I made a big pot of Chicken noodle soup yesterday. Ben and I can have that for an appetizer tonight. It is such a bone warmer,on a night like this.

Ben came home around 5:30,and we sat down to eat.

“How did your day go Faith?

“Great Ben,I’m meeting a lot of new people,and they all seem very nice. Someone is always there to help me,if needed.”

“You’ll be okay,I’m sure of that. The drive home was bad,it started sleeting,and people were driving like idiots. Some are always in a hurry to go no-where.”

“I know Ben,when I left work earlier,it was raining hard. I thought,I might have to pull over,because I couldn’t see out of the windshield, very good. But it started to slow down a little bit, which made me happy.”

After we ate dinner,we both watched a little television,and then we went to bed. Because we both had to get up earlier,than we wanted to. Of course the month of January and February has surprises,from mother nature.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

