Jean Alphin

"Short Stories"

The Sister,That I Thought,I Knew (57)


Today is Christmas day,I went over to Mom’s to help her with preparing the food for the day. She insisted she didn’t need any help,but I thought,I would be there if she did.
Around noon,Maxwell and Mary Ann arrived,Maxwell introduced us,with a gleam in his eyes. It really showed,he was in love. Mary Ann was a petite girl,with blond hair,which she wore back in a pony-tail. She had the biggest blue eyes,that just sparkled. As far as weight,she might of weigh 100 lbs.

Mom liked her right away, Mary Ann asked if she could help her with dinner.

“No thank you Mary Ann,you and Maxwell go in the living room,and watch the parade on t.v. Faith and I have everything covered.

Next Ben,Tamara and Ned came walking in the door.

Tamara came out in the kitchen and gave Mom and I a kiss. “Merry Christmas”,she said. “I stopped over at the house,and Ben told us,you left early this morning,to help grand mom. I know everything smell awesome!”

“We’re eating around 1:00,so it won’t be long.”said Mom.
Just as Mom asked about what time,Chadwick and his family is supposed to be here. We all heard,Chadwick yelling “Merry Christmas” in the living room. Him and his wife Tracy,walked in the kitchen,and gave all of us a kiss.

“Mom said,where are the kids?”

Chadwick said,Tracy’s brother took them to Philadelphia to see the Christmas parade.His children,wanted them to go with them.”

“That’s very nice of him,they all should enjoy themselves,it’s better in-person.”

“Mom,I thought the same thing,said Chadwick.”

“Dinner will be ready soon,so both of you go in the living room,and chat with the others,said Mom

Half hour later,I set the table for everyone,and Mom said to me.

“Faith make sure you set an extra,place setting.”

“For who Mom?”

“You never know,we might have another guest.”

“Oh!” I said, (I thought),I wonder who that might be?”

Mom walked into the living room and said,”Dinner is ready.”

Everybody gathered around the table,and found a seat. Before they started eating,Mom said grace.

While everyone was eating and chatting,the phone rang. Mom jumped up to answer it. But when she did,who ever was on the other line hung up.

“I wonder who that was? Mom said

“Probably the wrong number,I said

“I guess your right Faith”

After we all ate,we went into the living room and exchanged gifts. Later Mom and I cleaned the kitchen up. She didn’t have very much to say,after that phone call. I suppose,she thought,it might have been Autumn.

After everyone left,”I asked Mom why she didn’t have much to say.”

“I’m just tired,after you and Ben leave,I’m going to bed.”

“We’re getting ready to leave,Ben and I gave her a kiss,and we drove home.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

