Jean Alphin

"Short Stories"

The Sister,That I Thought,I Knew (55)


When I got home,I was happy to be there. I would call Ben, but I don’t want to bother him at work. I’ll just wait until he comes home tonight.
Instead,I called Mom,she answered it on the first ring.

“What were you waiting for Mom a call? Your phone only rang once.”

“I was just talking to Maxwell,he said,he can’t wait to bring Mary Ann home.So that everyone can meet her.”
“That was nice Mom. The reason I’m calling is,if you want to go Christmas shopping let me know. I just came from the mall,and when I got out into the parking lot. Some young guy,snatched my purse. The police came,and I gave him my report. The security guard,went in back of the mall,and found my purse. My money was missing,and the police said,I’m lucky it wasn’t my life.”
“He’s right Faith!” “Did you have anything else important in your purse?”

“No” “That’s why I don’t use a wallet,because of something happening like this.”

“What did Ben say?”

“Mom, I didn’t tell him yet,I’ll wait until he comes home from work.”

“Okay Faith!” I’ll let you know if I want to go shopping, talk to you later.”

I hung the phone up,and looked at the clock. I thought I better start dinner. Ben will be home in about an hour.

When dinner was almost done,Ben walked in the door

“Hi Faith! I can smell your meatloaf, I’m starving. Really busy today,I didn’t even get a chance to eat lunch.”

Ben grabbed two plates,from the cupboard. “He said,”I better wash my hands,then I’ll take the meat loaf,out of the oven,if it’s done.”
“It’s finished,I shut the oven off,just before you walked in. You do that,and I’ll finish mashing the potatoes.”

When we both sat down to eat,I told Ben what happened at the mall.

“You were lucky Faith,the money can be replaced, your life is more important. Do want you want,but this time of the year. You should have someone with you,when you go shopping.”

“I called mom and told her what happened. I also told her,if she wants to go Christmas shopping,let me know.”

“That was very smart to say. She shouldn’t be out shopping by herself either ,with those bums out their.”

“I was in the Christmas spirit when I was shopping in the mall. Until that idiot,stole my handbag. But I’m not going to let him ruin my holiday. Tomorrow,I’m going down in the basement,and dig out all my decorations. Maybe,I’ll even play some Christmas music.”

“That’s a great attitude,but just think of me,while I’m working hard.” Said Ben, laughing

“Talking about working Ben,I’m going to see what’s going on at my old job. If their not going to open soon,after the holiday’s. I’m going to look for another job. They must be having money problems,because they have, been shut down for a while.”
“You might be right Faith,things aren’t that great out there.”

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

