Jean Alphin

"Short Stories"

The Sister,That I Thought,I Knew (54)


I woke-up this morning with big plans. I got Ben off to work,about an hour ago. He was in a better mood,he said he had slept fairly well. That made me feel good,it gave me the incentive to follow through,with my plans.

Before I start,I better make a Christmas list. This will give me a few ideas. Maxwell is coming home for the holiday’s. He asked Mom,if he could bring his girlfriend Mary Ann. I already know her answer,of-course.
Tamara and Ned are coming. Chadwick and Tracy,with their children are supposed to come. Ben’s brother and sister,are supposed to come. I’ll put Mom’s name down,there is only one thing she wants. She would love to talk to Autumn.

The only person that won’t be here is Autumn. She hasn’t called or anything. I really wish,she would contact me,and tell me,she’s okay.

I decided to go to the mall,this afternoon. As soon as I walked into the mall,I noticed it was decorated.
There was a huge Christmas tree in the main center of the mall. It was just glowing with blinking white lights.. The tree was dressed with green,red and blue Christmas balls. There also were loads of ornaments,snowmen,Santa’s, bells and stars.
Everyone had their business sparkling,with gorgeous decorations. In the background,I could hear Jingle Bells playing. A lot of people,some with their children, were walking by me chatting with their friends. Laughing,and carrying their purchases in their bags.
This scene,just put me in a more festive mood,I walked from store to store and made a few purchases.
After a while,I got hungry and tired.So I stopped in a place to eat at the mall,and ordered a roast beef sandwich,and a cup of coffee. After I was finished,I said to myself, ”that did the trick”. I gathered up my bags,and walked to my SUV in the parking lot.

As I was opening my side door,a young man,with sunglasses,and a black pull-over cap. Also wearing a big black coat,came running over to me,and quickly,grabbed my purse.
Then he ran off…I screamed for help, a man and woman ran over to me.

“What’s a matter lady! The man said, while the woman just stood there,and said nothing.

“Call the police!” I said trembling. “I just been robbed,did you see that man steal my purse?”

“No I didn’t, I’m sorry.” he answered

As we were talking,the woman with him ran into the mall,to get security.

When the woman came back with the security officer,he took my report. And ask for my license.
He told me,he already called the police.There was another man with him,and he was asked by the security officer,to go and check in the back of the mall. Maybe the robber dropped the purse.

The police finally came,and took my report, and asked me for my license. I took the card out of my glove compartment. He asked,the security officer,”if anyone checked the grounds for him?”

As he was talking,the other officer came back,with a small brown purse in his hands.

He said, “Is this yours?”

“Yes I said.”

He than handed it to me,”Check to see what is missing.”

I then checked inside my purse,”I said,”The only thing is missing,is my make-up bag. It has about fifty dollars,and change in it.”
“What about your wallet?” the police asked

“I don’t need a wallet,my important cards for my car,is in my glove compartment.

“Well, Ms. Kilisk, your lucky, you recovered your purse,except for your money. It could of been your life. If anything comes up with this guy you described, someone will contact you.”

“I thanked everyone,and got in my SUV and drove home,still shaking inside.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

