Jean Alphin

"Short Stories"

The Sister,That I Thought,I Knew (53)


The next morning,when I got up and made Ben breakfast,we were both still tired.

Ben said,”I enjoyed myself yesterday,with your mother. But I’m going to pay for it today.”

“You’ll be okay, once you wake-up, and eat something.”

“I know honey, I’ll probably feel better after I finish drinking this cup of coffee.

After Ben left for work,I cleaned the kitchen.Then I sat down on my kitchen chair,and looked out my window. The leaves on the trees were blowing,and the wind was howling.
I want to go and do a little shopping today. Because it is, “Black Friday”. Maybe later this afternoon, after I do a little straightening up.(I thought)

The phone rang,I picked it up,the voice on the other line said.

“Hi Sis!”

“Hello Chadwick, this is a surprise.”

“I just called mom,and asked her how everything turned out yesterday. She told me,you and Ben were their. That you all ate and watched some t.v., and had a good time.
I told her,after we left Tracy’s parents house. It was to late,to stop over.So I told her,that is why,I called her today.”

“That was nice of you brother.”

“You don’t seem to be to happy about,what I just said.”growled Chadwick

“Not at all!” I thought you would at least give her a call yesterday.Were your fingers broken?”

“Real funny Faith!” “I told you, I’d called her today.”

“Mom knew,you wouldn’t show-up. But she kept looking at the phone,while Ben and I were there. You know, you, are her favorite?”

“I don’t feel like arguing,you know I have a family now.”grumbled Chadwick

“Good By Chadwick,I’ll talk to you later, when I cool down.”

“Good By Faith!”

When Ben came home from work,I could tell he was tired.

“What a day,I am so glad to be out of that place today.”says Ben

“I bet you are Ben! After yesterday,I think eating more than usual,which we both did. Just makes you more tired. I was going to the mall today,to do a little shopping. But after talking to Chadwick this morning,I didn’t feel like going anywhere. I just did a few things around the house,and then took a nap.”

“Weren’t you lucky?” “How’s Chadwick?”

“He’s okay! We both had a disagreement about yesterday. I thought,he should of least called Mom. If you noticed Mom yesterday,she kept looking at the phone.”

“Now that you mention it, she did. Because I did see her look a couple of times.”

While we were talking,I put our dinner on the table. I made spaghetti and meatballs,one of Ben’s favorites. We sat down,and continued talking about yesterday’s event.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

