Jean Alphin

"Short Stories"

The Sister,That I Thought,I Knew (48)


So I dialed the number, figures the line is busy. I’ll call back in a couple of minutes.
About ten minutes later,after micro-waving my coffee. I redialed the police station. Someone picked-up the phone on the other line.
The voice said,”Good afternoon, Sorta,police station. This is Rosabel speaking,where can I direct the call?”

“Hello, My name is Faith Kilisk, and I’m calling from Flint PA.”

“So how can I help you?”

“My sister,Autumn Teckly,was living at the Detox center,in Sorta. I received a letter from Mott Jones,yesterday.
The letter stated that Autumn,was doing fine there. But a couple of weeks ago,in the middle of the night,she just walked out of there. She left,all of her personals behind.”

“Let me check my records,Ms Kilisk.Your sister’s name is familiar. Can you hold on for a minute?”

“Sure I can,Rosabel.”

I waited about five minutes,and Rosabel came back on.

“I’m sorry to keep you waiting,I had to go through two big piles of papers.”

“That’s fine, no problem.”

“I found the report about a woman,leaving a detox center,from Mr. Jones. The name he said was your sister Autumn Teckly.
A police-officer wrote a report. But he stated,she didn’t do anything to break the law.”

“I was hoping that she wasn’t in jail. Because she is supposed to be living on the streets.”

“Well Ms.Kilisk,there is nothing we can do,until she breaks the law.”

“Thank you Rosabel,for taking your time, and trying to help me.”

“You’re welcome!

After Rosabel hung-up, I was back to the beginning.” Well at least,she isn’t in any trouble,yet.I sighed

The only thing I can do now,is just wait,and see if Autumn calls me again. There is nothing else I can do.

I feel like, I have to get out of the house.I know me,I will just start thinking about where Autumn may be.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

