Jean Alphin

"Short Stories"

The Sister,That I Thought.I Knew (41)


“After I met Mattie in jail,when we got out. I moved in with her”. She said,”I could get a job with her. Well anyway it was the same job,that I worked at,before. When dad threw me out. You do remember that,I’m sure!
What I didn’t know,Mattie was on heroin. Somehow she got me doing the same thing. After a while, I got hooked on it. I tried to stop and get away. But it never happened, until after Mattie got murdered.”
“How do you know Mattie,was murdered?”

“She owed,the dealer big money. Mattie used to go and buy it,for me also. The last time I spoke to her,she told me if she didn’t pay him soon. He said,he would take care of her.”

“I think,I already talked to much. I’ll call you back soon.
Would you tell Tamara,I love her, I’m very sorry for not being there for her.”

“I think you should tell Tamara yourself.”

“Faith,I’ll call you later,love you sis.”

After Autumn hung up the phone. I just stood there for a few minutes. I knew something was going on with her. Because it wasn’t like her,to just leave her daughter here. Not to hear anything from her at all.
Now I’m going to have to wait for her to call me back.I wouldn’t even think of telling Tamara,her mother called. That would only upset her more.

Ben called from work,and asked if everything was okay.
“ No Ben!” Autumn called me from a rehab center in North Carolina. She said,she is there for being on heroin for a long time. I guess when her girlfriend Mattie, was murdered. Autumn got scared and admitted herself there.”

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

