Jean Alphin

"Short Stories"

The Sister,That I Thought,I Knew (39)


After the news,Ben and I both went to bed.
Ben said,”We always,think the worse.It’s probably not Autumn,now get some sleep.”
Ben gave me a kiss good night.He fell asleep about ten minutes,after we got in bed. I laid there,for hours,but finally fell asleep, sometime,in the early morning.
The next morning,I got up, and made breakfast for Ben.
“Did you fall asleep Faith?”
“I did!” But not until early this morning.I should of worked today,it would have kept my mind,from not wandering.”
“They didn’t need you today. Once they get straighten out with all the remodeling.You’ll probably be going back soon.”
“Maybe your right!”
“If you need me,call me at work,Faith.”
“Thanks Ben,I’ll be fine!”
We held each other for a long time,and he gave me a peck on the cheek.
“By!” Call me if you need me,promise?”
“Yes Ben, I promise.”
After lunch time,I decided to go grocery shopping.No news is good news! That is what my mother always says.
When I went outside,I felt a little better.The sun was shining,and a little breeze was blowing. It was sure better,than yesterday. I don’t think,the ducks even like it.
While I was shopping,I ran into one of our old neighbor Lucy. She asked me how my family was.Lucy said,she moved in with her daughter Jenna, after her husband died. That house was to big for Dan and I. But he insisted on staying there. Now that he has passed on,I thought it would be best to sell. I’ll leave a lot of happy and of course sad memories. I thought the house would have sold by now.It’s been on the market for about a year and a half.
“The economy is still bad Lucy. It’ll sell in time.It’s been nice seeing you,tell your whole family,I said hello. You take care of yourself Lucy,Bye.”

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

