Jean Alphin

"Short Stories"

The Sister, That I Thought,I Knew (34)


I’m having my crazy dreams again. I seem to have them when something is going on with Autumn. I started having these dreams,way back after Autumn left home. She must have rather been with our father,then staying home with me.
I missed her so much,we used to do everything together. After she left,I was in shock, I didn’t want to do anything.

I kept thinking,what did I do wrong?

Why didn’t she tell me she was leaving?

I wouldn’t even get on a bus,because, we as sisters,went everywhere together.I didn’t really have any friends at the time.
I didn’t think about having friends,we were like,two peas in a pod.

But I learned fast,I had to learn how to do things by myself.I figured,one of these days,Autumn would come back home. Then I would feel like a whole person.
I know Autumn called Chadwick,and told him where she was going. But I felt like she slapped me in the face. The family never really heard from her again,until she was going to get married to Jake.

I have often wondered all my life,what would life be like. If Autumn stayed,and we both grew up as young ladies together as sisters. Neither one of us, will ever know the answer to that question.

I was having dreams about us both, having a good times in school.Going on dates together.Sharing our dreams of graduating from high school,and sharing what ever memories,sisters share.
Like I said earlier,the dreams are back,but it’s not good dreams this time. They are very frightening.
Maybe because I haven’t heard from her in a long time. Autumn stopped calling and writing to me,because I refused to give her any more money. Matter of fact,I don’t even know where she is living.
The last time I sent her money to the address she gave me at the time. I sent her a letter asking her how she was doing. That letter was returned unopened,and stamped undeliverable.
I’m just gone to wait,until she contacts me. I don’t have any choice of the matter.

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “The Sister, That I Thought,I Knew (34)

Leave a Reply

