Jean Alphin

"Short Stories"

The Sister,That I Thought,I Knew (28)


When Autumn arrived into the town of Sorta,North Carolina. She said that, she stopped at Wendy’s to get something to eat.Autumn said,she ordered something to eat,and was going to sit at a table. Frieda,a friend of hers,popped out of no-where.
Frieda said,”Where have you been? I’ve been trying to get you on your phone since last night.”
“You didn’t call my cell phone.”
“No” I called your house,because I lost my cell phone with all my numbers.I only know your land line number by heart.”
“So Frieda,what is so important?”said Autumn.
“Last night,someone broke into your store,after they broke the door window. Then they left their selves in. Everything was thrown around on the floor.The cash register was broken into, what ever was in there is going. Some one was walking by the store last night, between 1 or 2 o’clock this morning. Seen somebody in their,and called the police.
The officer contacted,the owner of the building,which you know is my brother-in-law.
He called your house to tell you. But there was no answer.
Jack then called me,and ask me to try to contact you.”
“Autumn told Frieda she was out of town.Everything seems to happen at once.”
“I’m sorry Autumn,can I help with anything?”
“No Thanks, If I need anything,I’ll call your house.”
Autumn said,after that,she didn’t have an appetite. She said,she threw everything in the trash,and went to her store,what was left.
Autumn said,she drove about fifteen minutes to her store.
When she got there,the door was boarded up. But the door wasn’t locked.
Somebody had come in there,I guess to steal the money in the drawer.I had around forty dollars in there. That probably wasn’t enough for the person.
So who-ever,decided to throw,all my inventory around. That wasn’t bad enough,they had to spray paint them to.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

