Jean Alphin

"Short Stories"

The Sister,That I Thought,I Knew (24)


As she took the long drive to North Caroline.It was about 39 degrees,the skies were clear,and the sun was shining. The roads weren’t very busy,which was good for me.She just hated to be stuck in a lot of traffic. Tamara was sitting in the back seat coloring in her coloring book.Autumn said she was listening to her favorite music on a radio station. Which was country music,that seem to relax her.
After about two hours,which was all most three-quarters the way. Autumn pulled into a fast food restaurant,and Tamara was jumping up and down. “About time mom”,she said, “I’m hungry,and I have to go to the bathroom”.”Okay Tamara,calm down,I have the same problems.” “Are you ready to go in?” “Yes mom,” Tamara answered.
Autumn said,after they tidied up,and ate their meal.They both were ready to leave. Autumn called me, and told me where she was. She said she is only about an hour away. Autumn said,she would call back when she was closer.
When Autumn got closer,it was starting to get dark. Autumn called me again,when she got about ten minutes closer.
When they pulled into the driveway,I was standing at the door. I went out and help them,bring their things in.I showed Autumn and Tamara,where the extra room was. After they were settled some. I told them,to get washed up,before they ate.”Autumn” I said, “I made a pot of chicken noodle soup,for us.”We will be back down shortly,” Autumn said.
I called my husband Ben,and told him that my sister and niece just arrived. Ben said,”that’s great honey,tell them both,they are welcome to stay as long as they like.”
“Okay Ben,I’ll tell them both,and I’ll see you when you get done work.”
“Okay honey,I’ll see you after I’m finished work.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

