Jean Alphin

"Short Stories"

The Sister,That I Thought,I Knew (16)


“None worth mentioning.” ”What kind of job do you have in mind?”

“Just go out with a couple of guys,and do what they say.”

“Gus,I have never done anything like that before.”

“There’s a first time for everything.Try it you might like it.”

“I don’t know.”

“Why don’t you come with me,and I’ll get you something to eat and drink,then you can think about it.”

Gus took me to this nice restaurant,and he said I could order anything I wanted. So I ordered my favorite,Fried Chicken platter. Afterward,I was flat-out full.

“Gus said to me, ”If you work for me,you can eat like that all the time. Instead of eating out of trash cans.”

I thought about it,and said, ”What the Hell! I’ll try it!”

“Great! I’ll give you some money,to buy some new clothes,and accessories that you need.I’ll also give you a key to one of my apartments.You can stay there.If you don’t like what you’re doing,you can just leave. Deal?”

“Deal!”

She got herself all cleaned up,and felt like a new person. She was actually sleeping in a real bed again,it felt good. I just hope I can do this job.There is no way, I’m going back home. And as far as dad goes: doesn’t he have a heart? I’m his own blood,how can he put his own flesh and blood out? I guess,I’ll never figure him out.

The next day,Gus knocked on the door. She opened,the door. He has short, straight black hair that he combed backed, broad shoulders and a thin built. Gus was dressed in a blue suit.

Gus said, “How are you doing today? You sure look more beautiful than you did yesterday.”

“Thanks,” I said.

Gus said, “the reason I stopped by,is because there is another woman. Who lives next door,she works for me too .Her name is Tina. She’s only been here for about three weeks. But she all ready knows the ropes. When you get time,I think she is home now. Knock on the door and introduce yourself. Tell her you’re also working for me, and you’re new at it.”

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

