Jean Alphin

"Short Stories"

The Sister,That I Thought,I Know (15)


The next month was unusually quite,nobody said,boo hoo or go to hell.I knew something was brewing.
Well Shirley had a nerve,she called dad at work. Told him, that she came into my room on the porch.She caught me making out with some young fellow. She told the guy to get out of the house.
When dad came home,he was boiling,he yelled to me,”Autumn, get in this living room right now.”
“This is the straw,I want you out of here,by tomorrow.”
“But where will I go?”
“That is your problem,you’ll figure something out.”
“Dad your not being fair with me. This is all because of Shirley and her kids don’t like me. Because,I’m from your other family. Can’t you make sense out of that?”
“That is the most ridiculous thing,I ever heard.”’
“Just remember what I said,”Be out of here by tomorrow.”
That night, I packed my suitcase,with my belonging.I think,I cried all night. I didn’t know where I was going. I had no money,nothing. How could dad do this to me. I can’t answer that. I do know,I won’t go back to Pennsylvania.I don’t want to hear mom hollering at me over nothing. I’m thinking,it seems like the same thing has been happening here.Nobody loves me!I just need a break!
I left early the next morning,with my suitcase in tow.Dad had given me twenty dollars,in case I wanted something to eat.
I was out on the streets for a month. I felt dirty.I really didn’t have any place to get washed up.I used all the clothing I had with me. I threw them away,after,I wore them to many days.I tried to get a job. But nobody wanted to hire a street bum.Till one day,this man was watching me.He said lady,”Do you want a place to stay,get washed up,and a bed to sleep in?”
“Where can I get that?
He said,”You work for me,and I’ll take care of you.”
“I don’t even know who you are.”
“My name is Gus,and I been watching for a couple of weeks, you walking the streets.Don’t you have a family?”

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

