Jean Alphin

"Short Stories"

The Sister,That I Thought,I Knew (13)


Dad didn’t say another word,as he was driving.He was to quite,I knew I must be in trouble.We were riding for about a half hour,when he pulled in front of this old cottage, with yellow shutters. Him and I got out,me holding my bag,and looking scared.Come on inside Autumn,you can meet your new family.
When I walked in their was this woman standing there,with bright red short curly hair.She was slender and about 5’5” next to her was a boy about 10 years old,with short red curly hair like the woman next to him.
Dad said,”This is your step-mom Shirley,and your step-brother Steven.They both looked at me like I was trash. Shirley said,”I don’t know where I’ll put you.Maybe on the back porch,you can sleep on the couch,it’s enclosed.”
“Thank you,I said. She showed me to the back porch,and I took my bag with me.This will be your room,for right now. It had a couch and chair in there.One small bureau for my clothes.
When your finished cleaning up,go to the kitchen. I’m sure you will be able to find it. I’ll make you something to eat.”
As I was getting cleaned up, I could hear,Shirley and dad arguing.I could tell by the way she was talking,she didn’t want me here.I heard dad,go out the front door and slam it shut. I was finished cleaning up,so I went to the kitchen. Shirley was sitting at the kitchen table. Come on in Autumn,I’ll make you a peanut butter and jelly sandwich. “Thanks,” I said
While I was sitting down at the table eating. Shirley asked me all kinds of questions.She wanted to know if mom put me up to this? I said, “No!” She knows now,because I told my brother Chadwick,where I was going. He tried to talk me out of it. He stopped when he realize I made up my mind.”

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

