Jean Alphin

"Short Stories"

“Family Waves” Time for me to go home (8)


The three weeks passed by fast,mom called Tuesday and she said that she would be home by the week-end.
I couldn’t wait to tell my family. I know my aunt’s two daughters were probably already scheming their adventure.They both couldn’t wait to get their freedom again.

Bright and early Saturday morning.
Mom pulled in the driveway,she had her car loaded down with all her belonging. I went out to help her with all her things.
But before I went out, I called the girls,and told them mom was home.
I gave her a big hug,and told her we missed her.
Mom was glad to see everyone, she was tired from the long ride from Maryland,so she went upstairs to her room to lie down.

Later that day,I made supper for everyone.
Mom came down stairs to eat,and she looked well rested,she said she had a nice time over at her sisters house.But it was great to be home.
I told her that I would be going home tomorrow,so I would have to go upstairs and pack.
Charlie would be picking me up when I called him.I have a lot of things that have to be done,including trying to get myself a job.

The next morning,I called Charlie and ask him to come and pick me up at mom’s. Because I was ready to come home.
Everything seem to be back to normal here.
It was time for me to get on with my life.

My husband came by late in the afternoon.
He came in the house and talked with mom and my sisters for a while.
Later he helped me to load his car with all my personal things. We said our goodbye’s and off we went.

On the way home,Charlie was telling me about the show he was watching last night. I know it had to be the history channel.Because he was telling me about
how light bulbs are made . Charlie said “It seems like anything you are curious about.
” How something is made”
You should watch this show each week.“How it is Made” there is something different each week.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

